3/7/11 too fast

March 7, 2011 at 3:16 pm 8 comments

oh, it goes by too fast, right? i think that as i realize that i have not stopped to update you all on a seizure mike did have about 2 weeks ago. mike did have a seizure lasting less than 2 minutes when i got home on a friday a couple weeks ago. i was so glad to have been home and able to take him to the ER myself and try to be on point for talking to the hospital staff. we followed up with neurology and will be switching to a new seizure med and weaning off of the old one–again–since the hospital loaded him up with it the night of the seizure. but then i have mixed feelings about the speed of life when i remember we are coming up on the 5 year anniversary of mike’s brain bleed. 5 years of trying to make impossible decisions, raise babies, stretch mike, cope with pain, learn nursing, learn advocating, reach for Jesus, hang in there, remind him that sometimes love looks like this instead of that, face needs, thank, cry, enjoy, frame, and live in the moment we are in. 5 years of adjusting to a new normal that never settles long enough to become normal.
it seems like forever, and then like nothing when i remember what life used to be.
so, five years in…
we are more aware of God’s goodness, providence.
more aware of what endurance looks like, what prayer looks like, what helplessness looks like.
there is much less of us, and much more obviously Him.

my moment to think is going much too fast–school bells ring and kids will be waiting.
wonder what the next 5 years hold. thanks for watching the seasons with us, michelle

Entry filed under: updates.

2/10/11 tend may 18, 2011

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt Koupal  |  March 7, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Hey All-

    I saw Mike today at the dentist’s office. We laughed together with the staff about wanting to skip the Marathon banquet years ago because he and I were enjoying ourselves on the golf course so much. I’m thinking a ride in a golf cart with him at the Marathon this year might do me some good. Him too maybe.

    In Him,

    Matt

    Reply
  • 2. Barbara Gobrail  |  March 9, 2011 at 10:12 am

    After reading recently a book on Buddhism, it spoke of living in the present. There is no future that is of concern to them! And I remember the scripture quote about the birds of the air and the flowers and how more important are we! Several years ago, I was struck by the words of the pastor, at the close of a Michael Card concert, about live the “sacrament of the present moment” – those words mean that I must see and experience the present moment as God’s entrance into my life! May you see each event as God’s entrance into your lives! I am praying for you and the family.

    Reply
  • 3. Steve Fisher  |  March 11, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Hello Michelle:

    It is hard to believe it’s been five years. I wish it was a more faithful prayer warrior. I had a vision many years ago about prayer. I was struggling with the concept that the more people that pray the faster God acts. I know this isn’t true but sometimes it seems like it. My vision was that our prayers don’t make God act or act faster. Our prayers change the people we pray for’s orientation so that they are better able to receive the light and power of Jesus. I’m praying that you and Mike will be the best position to receive all that God wants for you. Your faith is so strong that I almost doubt mine – it is so puny compared to yours. Blessings to you, Mike and children.

    Steve

    Reply
    • 4. LK  |  March 19, 2011 at 8:12 am

      I’m a complete stranger to you, Michelle, and Mike. Yet, I have cried with you, praised with you, and have been encouraged and strengthened by your words, by the words of those who comment and by seeing how God has worked throughout these past 5 years. I think what Steve said about prayer works both ways – those for whom we pray may better receiv the light and power of Jesus – and we, too, are drawn closer in our relationship with the Almighty God. I will continue to pray with those who know and love you.

      Reply
      • 5. Sarah  |  March 21, 2011 at 8:29 am

        LK – I am like you – a stranger to Mike and Michelle and yet feel my own relationship with God has been stregthened over the last 5 years through Michelle’s complete openness and through my response prayers. This is how God can be present in even the most troubling situations…

  • 6. Teena Noffke  |  March 29, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    Hey Mike, Michelle , and kids,
    Wow…five years have indeed have passed. The changes in all of your lives have been tremendous to be sure. But praise be to our Lord and Savior who remains a constant source of love and grace to us when we are in the storms of life…a God who remains ever faithful… no matter what. Michelle, I so appreciate your posts and I am thankful for the specific prayer requests you ask for. I continue to hold up you and Mike in my daily prayers knowing that the God of the Universe is there to meet your every need and every challenge that you face. Love to you all on your journey though the unpredictable….
    God’s love and ours,
    The Noffke Family

    Reply
  • 7. matt and eli margaron  |  April 5, 2011 at 7:45 am

    We love you guys. We miss you. 5 years, it is hard to imagine. God is so good. Thank you for your friendship and love.

    Matt and Eli

    Reply
  • 8. Aaron Alley  |  May 18, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Mike & Michelle,

    I have no idea how, but I was just sitting here at work in Los Angeles and thought of you guys. I google searched and found this website.. I had heard through the grapevine years ago about whats been going on.. and now I know much more by visiting this site. My thoughts and prayers are with you both and your families! Thank you both for all you did for me back in the 90’s at young life.. those are some great memories. You both had a big influence on my life. Sorry that sometimes my buddies and I were clowning around, but after all, we were just kids! But the message still came through and now (thankfully 🙂 ) we’ve all grown up. Thanks for being a part of that and I wish you both and your family the best during this difficult time. Thank you for everything you both did for me!

    Aaron

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts